Lifestyle

Post Birth Control – Smiling through the Blow-up

I recently decided to nix the taking of birth control – if this is something you’ve done in the past you might be all to familiar with the post-birth control symptoms that make you cringe and want to hide under the covers for a few weeks.

I figure since I’ve gone through it and tried multiple different things during this time, I may be able to give you a few tips and tricks on how to survive the mess that is ‘post-birth control problems’.

Let’s start with your skin. Many women take birth control to alleviate the skin issues that they have. By regulating your hormones, birth control can reduce the amount of break-outs that you have. That being said, after you hop off birth control you just might get an influx of lovely little presents under the surface of your skin and it may not always be easy to deal with.

For as long as I can remember I never really had an issue with acne. A few break-outs here and there when I get stressed with work or around mother nature’s gift but nothing too crazy. Within the first week of removing birth control from my system, my skin went crazy! I honestly thought this was my skins way of getting back at me for not taking the pill anymore and I was prepared to fight back. I tried rubbing alcohol, different cleansers, toners and my salicylic acid spot treatment but I swear these things just made it worse! So what was the perfect combination? Enter; Coconut Oil, Benzoyl Peroxide and glycerin soap. I cannot stress it enough – your body is going through a traumatic time and the last thing it needs is to try to cope with thousands of products – sometimes all you need is to go natural! (And a little Benzoyl Peroxide right on the little buggers is a nice way to zap the acne over night!)

And of course – DRINK LOTS OF WATER. There are not enough words in the english language to describe how important it is to stay hydrated and flush all the bad toxins out of your body so make sure you do that!

Now onto the bloating – I don’t know if this is just a me problem or not but post birth control Emily was baby bloat Emily. I had a mini pouch for at least a month after. I can’t tell if it was time that eventually solved this issue or the fact that I decided to go for more runs to combat the digestive issues and sweat out the water weight I think I was retaining but either way – a bit of exercise could be helpful in aiding the removal of the curse of the bloated tummy.

And finally, time. It will take time for your body to adjust to be patient with it. Listen to yourself and try introducing new things. Some people find certain vitamins help with discomfort. I’d also suggest being prepared with certain feminine products at all time because now that you can’t plan your special day to a T, you may need to be prepared for anything!

Leave a Reply

